Sequence & Arrangement of the Tripartite Hebrew Canon

<u>The Torah</u>: תּוֹרֶה *Torah*\ or <u>the Pentateuch</u>: Πεντάτευχος *Pentateuchos*\ (five books): Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, & Deuteronomy.

<u>The Prophets</u>: נְבִיאִים *Nevi'im* (eight books in two categories):

- 1: <u>The Former Prophets</u> (four books): Joshua, Judges, Samuel*, & Kings*.
- 2. The Latter Prophets (four books in two subcategories):
 - (1) The Major Prophets (three books): Isaiah, Jeremiah, & Ezekiel.
 - (2) <u>The Minor Prophets</u> or <u>The Twelve</u> (one book): Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, & Malachi.

<u>The Writings: בְּתוּבְים \Kethuvim</u>\ (eleven books in three categories):

- 1. Poetic (three books): Psalms, Proverbs, & Job.
- 2. <u>The Megilloth</u> or <u>Five Rolls</u> (five books): Song of Solomon, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes, & Esther.
- 3. <u>Historical</u> (three books): Daniel, Ezra-Nehemiah*, & Chronicles*.

^{*} Divided into two books in Christian Bibles.

